2013 Postseason WNIT Field Announced
March 18, 2013 – The Women’s National Invitation Tournament Selection Committee is excited to announce the 64-team field for the 2013 Postseason WNIT. The WNIT enters its 16th season and has selected one of its most competitive fields in tournament history featuring 36 teams with 20 or more wins.

First-round action tips off on Wednesday, March 20 and concludes on Friday, March 22. Second-round games begin March 23-25, round three March 27-29, quarterfinals March 30-April 1, and semifinals April 3-4. The championship game will be played on Saturday, April 6 and will be televised live and in HD at 3 p.m. ET on CBS Sports Network. All games are hosted by participating schools.

This year’s tournament features five teams from each of the Atlantic 10, Conference USA, and Mid-American and four from both the Big West and Southeastern. The Big Sky, Colonial, Missouri Valley, Sunbelt, and West Coast will all have three schools represented. Other conferences in the field include: America East (2), Big 10 (2), Mountain West (2), Pacific 12 (2), Southern (2), Atlantic Coast (1), Atlantic Sun (1), Big 12 (1), Big East (1), Big South (1), Horizon (1), Ivy (1), MAAC (1), MEAC (1), Northeastern (1), Ohio Valley (1), Patriot (1), Southland (1), Summit (1), SWAC (1), and WAC (1).

Tournament officials awarded an Automatic Qualifying berth to 29 conferences. This spot went to the team that finished the highest in the regular-season conference standings that did not advance to the NCAA Tournament. If there were ties, the WNIT abided by the conference tiebreaker. A team earns the AQ berth regardless of its overall record. A total of 35 teams were then given an At-Large berth; a team must have an overall record of .500 or better to be considered.

The Postseason WNIT is owned and produced by Triple Crown Sports based in Fort Collins, Colo. TCS also organizes men’s and women’s college basketball tournaments in Cancun, and the Preseason WNIT. TCS manages over 300 amateur sporting events across the country in volleyball, fastpitch, baseball, and basketball. With 30 years of experience in the event business, TCS is nationally-recognized as a premier tournament organization.

Game times will be announced by WNIT Officials on Tuesday, March 19.

First-Round Pairings

Wednesday, March 20
Utah @ Long Beach State
UCSB @ San Diego State
Idaho State @ BYU
Eastern Illinois @ Missouri
UAB @ Auburn

Thursday, March 21
Hawaii @ San Diego
Seattle @ Saint Mary’s
Northern Colorado @ Wyoming
Texas Southern @ Kansas State
IUPUI @ Illinois State
Butler @ Toledo
Indiana State @ Youngstown State
Miami (OH) @ Illinois
East Carolina @ Western Kentucky
Memphis @ Arkansas
Sam Houston State @ Tulane
Iona @ Drexel
Harvard @ Hartford
SMU @ Bowling Green State
Akron @ Duquesne
Sacred Heart @ Boston
Army @ Fordham
NC A&T @ James Madison
Richmond @ North Carolina State
Davidson @ Old Dominion
Appalachian State @ Charlotte
Florida @ Florida International
Winthrop @ FGCU

Friday, March 22
Eastern Washington @ Washington
UALR @ Pacific
Ball State @ Minnesota
Northern Iowa @ Marquette