Purdue earns title in championship game
November 21, 2010 – Purdue claimed the Preseason WNIT title Sunday with a hard-fought 67-58 victory over DePaul.

Brittany Rayburn and Drey Mingo each scored 21 points for Purdue, which played on a mission to start this year 4-0 in attempting to erase a frustrating season of 2009-10. The Boilermakers were successful Sunday against a quality DePaul team that kept the Purdue fans on the edge of their seats.

Rayburn earned Tournament MVP honors with 71 points in four games, and was joined on the all-tournament team by Mingo, who had a double-double Sunday with 21 points and 13 rebounds; and DePaul’s Keisha Hampton (team-high 15 points) and Sam Quigley (13 points). Also voted to the Preseason WNIT all-tournament team were Florida’s Jordan Jones and South Dakota State’s Jill Young. Jones, a junior guard, scored 36 points and added nine rebounds and six assists in three games for the Gators. Young, also a junior guard, recorded 40 points, eight rebounds, and seven assists in three games for the Jackrabbits.

In Sunday’s championship game, DePaul led 30-28 at halftime and jumped out to a 36-30 lead with two quick 3-pointers by Anna Martin. The Blue Demons still held on to a 44-40 lead before Purdue freshman Courtney Moses re-entered the game and sparked the Boilermakers. Moses sank five free throws and gave Purdue a 47-44 lead, their first since a 28-27 lead late in the first half. Mingo added six points of her own to stake Purdue to a 56-48 lead and change the momentum for good.

The first half was a tenacious battle with five lead changes between the teams. Rayburn scored six of Purdue’s first eight points and had 11 in the first half. DePaul’s Hampton led the Blue Demons with eight points.

Championship game
Sunday, Nov. 21, 2010
Purdue 67, DePaul 58